Posted by: lucksmith | February 28, 2009

Musichall Immortals

There’s stuff you wish you saw live. Things that just come alive from the description. You hear about these things in the green room, and hope one day you’ll meet them or see their act on film.

One of the heartrending things about performance history is knowing just how many things were never filmed. Isaac Fawkes at the Bartholomew fair, Bartolomeo Bosco doing the one cup routine, Hofzinser in the parlour.

Then there’s the things you never heard about before, that just wander into your life. This group was mentioned once by a friend in the Spiegel Garden, and I promptly forgot about them. Then suddenly at last weekend’s talk they were on screen and glorious. Bursting forth in my consciousness like a spinning chrysanthemum blossoming on high speed film.

If you’re in a rush while reading this, don’t bother watching the video.

However, if I could persuade you to  put all thoughts and worries from your mind, get a glass of whisky or a cup of tea, take a couple deep breaths and sit still for a moment…then you have a real treat in store.

Tomorrow, or sometime soon I have to do something I hate. I will sit down and watch one of my own ‘performances’ that has been taped. Firstly, I hate being taped,  as I am a firm believer in the purest of the pure: performances that live only in your memory. Secondly, I am highly critical of myself, and re-living performances is a bit painful.

The thing I have to remember is: if they had felt the same way I never would have seen them. That’s even more tragic than sitting down with a good friend to face your mistakes.

Thomas Parker: Our suffering is special.
The pain we feel is worse than anyone else.
But the sunrise we see is more beautiful than anyone else.
The Parkers is…like the moon.
There’s one side forever dark. Invisible. As it should be.
But remember, the dark moon draws the tides also.
Our time has come.
Bruno Parker: That’s the most wonderful thing you’ve said in years.
Thomas Parker: That’s the only thing I said in years.
-Funny Bones


Leave a comment

Categories